Nantwich RuralNantwich Town

Unit Info

Nantwich Town
Nantwich Police Station,
Beam Street,

Opening times

T: 0845 458 6378


Nantwich is part of the Eastern BCU

Inspector Dave Smithers

I am Dave Smithers, the Neighbourhood Policing Unit (NPU) Inspector for the Nantwich area. I am responsible for policing in the town of Nantwich and the surrounding areas of Acton, Audlem, Bunbury, Minshull, Peckforton, Willaston, Wrenbury and Wybunbury.

I joined the Metropolitan Police in 1986 and during that time I worked in most parts of London in a variety of uniform and plain clothes roles. I transferred to Cheshire in 1995, initially being posted to Ellesmere Port Division, before being promoted to Halton Division as Sergeant in 1997 where I worked as a custody, patrol and detective sergeant. I transferred to Chester Division in 2002, before a successful application allowed me to carry out a twelve month secondment to Bosnia- Herzegovina in 2003 as part of an EU Mission to manage, mentor and advise senior Bosnian Police Officers. I returned to Chester Division in 2004 for a short period before successfully applying for a strategic based role at Force Headquarters in Winsford (as the HMIC liaison officer for the Force). I was promoted to Inspector in 2005, initially being in charge of the Management of Police Information project (MOPI) which was introduced as a result of the murders of Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman in Soham,Cambridgeshire. In 2007 I transferred to the Western BCU, being based at both Chester and Northwich were I carried out the role as Targeted Patrol Team (TPT) Inspector and later a Performance role within the area. In 2009 I transferred to the Eastern BCU where I continued with the TPT before gaining the role as the Neighbourhood Inspector for Nantwich NPU.

My priorities for Nantwich are to reduce crime, anti-social behaviour and deal effectively with any night time economy issues. Our aim is to make people safer and feel safe. Our communities play an important role in neighbourhood policing, providing the police with information and opinion which influences local police priorities. You are an integral part in the success of policing at a local level and I would encourage you to tell the police officers and community support officers (PCSO's) about issues which concern you. You can do this by speaking to your local officer, attending the regular meetings we hold, or via the Constabulary website. I look forward to working with you to tackle policing issues and maintain Nantwich NPU as a safe and popular place to live and work.

Follow @NantwichNPU on Twitter to get updates from Nantwich Neighbourhood Policing Unit

Nantwich Rural structure

Nantwich Rural is divided into four cluster areas, these four areas are:

Audlem cluster

Which comprises the following parishes:

Audlem, Hankelow, Buerton, Dodcott-cum-Wilkesley, Newhall, Sound, Coole Pilate, Austerson, Baddington, Broomhall, and Baddiley

Bunbury cluster

Which comprises the following parishes:

Bunbury, Wardle, Calveley, Alpraham, Spurstow, Haughton, Stoke, Hurleston, Worleston, Aston-juxta-Mondrum, Poole, Minshull Vernon, Church Minshull, Cholmondeston, Wettenhall

Wrenbury cluster

Which comprises the following parishes:

Wrenbury, Marbury-cum-Quoisley, Norbury, Wirswall, Acton, Henhull, Edleston, Burland, Peckforton, Bickerton, Egerton, Bulkeley, Ridley, Faddiley, Brindley, Cholmondeley,Chorley

Wybunbury cluster

Which comprises the following parishes:

Wybunbury, Willaston, Stapeley, Batherton, Hatherton, Walgherton, Hough, Chorlton, Doddington, Bridgemere, Hunsterson, Blakenhall, Checkley-cum-Wrinehill, Lea

These four areas comprise of 58 local parishes. Although officers are given specific policing areas, they are on hand to offer support where required all across the rural areas.


Meetings and Events Meetings and Events RSS Feed